School Board Recognition Month
Janet Leiker

January 2018 School Board Recognition

Kansas Association of School Boards 

The job of a school board member is tough, the hours are long and the thanks are few and far between.

It is all too easy to put off saying “thank you” to this group of individuals who work tirelessly on behalf of our children and grandchildren.

They spend countless hours preparing to make decisions, participating in meetings and attending school activities and events. The locally elected school boarded is deeply rooted in U.S. tradition, as is public education. Our state has a proud tradition of support for public education, and in fact in 1966 the people of Kansas amended our state’s constitution to specifically call for local public schools that are ‘maintained, developed and operated by locally elected boards.’

January 2018 is designated as “School Board Recognition Month,” and we encourage you take the time to express appreciation to these seven remarkable individuals.

Bryce Matteson- President

Bill Royer- Vice President

Bobbie Rohling

Jessica Schmidt

Kent McKinnis

Dustin Carmichael

Ken Nisly